Hanging on for Dear Life.

I was taking photos of the fall leaves and looking at the approaching clouds from my upstairs deck when I caught movement at the very top of a very large tree......probably 40' tall....it was this little hummingbird fluttering his wings and hanging on to this branch. What he was doing way up there when it was so windy was beyond me. The day is gray and the light was low, so I was surprised that this photo turned out at all. I had to Blip it because it seems to tell the story of the day.

Earlier I was on the upper deck and I heard my husband say, "911 is the number to call, right?" He was referring to me climbing up a ladder to clean the gutters. I know he is right, I shouldn't be climbing up on ladders......But now the upper gutters are now clean and I made it down safely. :-)) The storm expected tonight and tomorrow is supposed to be major with gusts of wind that could take down big trees....lots of rain along with the wind makes the situation worse. Hopefully it will not be as bad as they are predicting. There was a Tornado that hit the Oregon Coast this morning......there were warnings that it could hit Rockaway Beach where our beach house is located, but it turned north and hit the town of Manzanita hard. It was a perfect shot up the main street of town and took out a couple businesses and damaged others less severely. Houses just off the main street of this small town had roofs torn off and massive trees were snapped off and hurled into homes. It looks awful from the news reports....it is exactly as you would expect the damage from a hurricane to look. It was interesting that it came from the ocean as a big funnel cloud, but it didn't seem to touch ground on the beach or the oceanfront properties.....the most damage was a couple short blocks from the shoreline and even then it seemed to stay a little off the ground taking the tops of trees and building off....leaving cars and boat on trailers in place and undamaged. Of course, fences and cars were damaged if they were in the way of the tree tops that crashed to the grounds. With so many phone cameras handy, the newsrooms have gotten amazing photos and videos of the storm from ordinary people in the area. 

Sorry that was to long.....did you really read to the end? Thanks for listening, this is a rare occurrence here in Oregon. Stay tuned to what the next two days bring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.