Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

D'arcy Spice

In the foreground you'll find my specimen of this very old variety of apple. I'm a bit worried about the browning on its leaves. I'm going to have to do some research. I bought it in a damp and cold February 18 months ago as a feathered maiden together with the Herefordshire Russett and Bramley's Seedling as a present (you might be able to see them in the background, Espaliered against the trellis) .

It's an old variety and it's a local one, reputed to have been found growing in the gardens of the Hall at Tollshunt D'Arcy in 1785. No doubt it was liberated from the clutches of the hall by some scallywag apple scrumper.

if you could shed any light on the blighted leaves, I'd be most grateful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.