Winsford

By Winsford

Mistaken Identity

A rather wet and miserable Saturday:  somewhat appropriate for exploring cemeteries looking for family graves and so we headed to the Balgay and  Western Cemeteries in Dundee -  armed for a change with plot numbers to help narrow down the search. 

We eventually came across the grave of a Helen Cairncross Edward who died on the 19th Jan 1895 in infancy. 

An old account of my Cairncross family which I'd used as the starting point for my own research had the first daughter of my great grandparents dying on that day, although I hadn't found the death certificate.  I initially wondered if this could be her grave but the Edward on the end suggested that she might be the daughter of my great grandfather's sister whom I had been unaware of. A quick search on Scotlands People when I got home confirmed this to be the case and family tree was updated accordingly.  

The Western is a rather interesting cemetery with some wonderfully elaborate monuments so we strolled around for a bit and came across the grave of another relation - Helen Hean (see extra) the aunt of the The Alexander Sisters whom I wrote about for the Dangerous Women Project

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.