I was...

...sitting under my willow tree trying to take photos of the sun between the leaves.

Every insect and bee and wasp and all manner of little flying things were in the garden, including a butterfly. The sun had come out in the afternoon and it was suddenly very warm.

The cat was sitting in my lap, and I was trying to take a photo of the willow leaves above me, when I was aware the cat was startled. I didn't have my cochlear processor on (it is more peaceful in the garden of a weekend without it!) so in the absence of any hearing I looked to see what startled the cat.

It was a swarm of hornets, about 40 or 50 at least. They were very agitated. I grabbed tight hold of the cat so he wouldn't move, but it seems he has no intention of moving anyway. And I sat very still.

I have only ever seen one or two hornets at a time. One tried to share my bed one winter, I lifted my bedclothes to see what was tickling my leg and it was a massive hornet. He was very sleepy so it was easy enough for me to get him outside.

But a swarm of hornets I have never ever seen before. As I said I didn't have my cochlear processor on, so I had no idea of the sound they might be making. But it upset the cat, so they must have been making some noise.

They didn't appear to be looking for food. They kept in their "pack" as they flew from tree to tree in my garden, but flying hither and thither in a very agitated manner.

I was under the willow tree which does have loads of aphids, and so I do get swarms of hundreds of wasps, but they never bother me as they are drunk on the honeydew from the aphids.

But the hornets weren't interested in the aphids. It was almost like they were angrily searching for something. They eventually went, but they came back a few more times, then finally left.

So I got up then. Came in and googled, but I couldn't find anything. Any ideas what was bothering them?

This is my entry for Silly Saturday because a)...I missed the sun between the willow leaves, 'cos by the time I got back out again after the hornets, the sun had gone in...and b)...did I do best staying still, or should I have run into the house...?

admirer https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2234012816652633382
is running Silly Saturday, so thank you to her!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.