Voracious

Now granted, this is probably waaay down on your "Shots I'd love to see" priority list. But here it is anyhow...
I think that it's rather late in the year for Monarch Caterpillars to be munching down on milkweed leaves, but I counted 6 this morning doing just that. The top photo shows the Cat's mouth parts rather clearly, look closely and you can see some green leaf material being 'chewed'. The bottom shot documents just how those 'mouth parts' are utilized. It ate so quickly that I had to use a shutter speed of 1250! hahaha I've been taking a page from Debbi's book and moving the little guys around so that they can eat their fill of what still remains of the milkweed plants. Our temps here North Central Florida are still very moderate with lots of sunshine so maybe these caterpillars will survive. I hope so! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.