It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Rescued by Cake

I was having a nice long lie until Rosemary reminded me I had to go to  Daniel's to get bread... then it was a mega rush down to meet Izzy for a swim.

It was an easterly, close to a full moon and autumn so the water was pretty rough. The tide must have been so high beforehand as the whole beach was soaking and there was a big ridge that's not normally there. We don't normally see mussels at Porty but there was loads and other jelly thingies stuck to all the shells.

It was amazing fun getting through the breakers and a few times I found myself swimming off the top of a wave and slamming down into the sea beyond it. For the first 30mins we hardly moved anywhere, but on the way back I swam my fastest ever 400m!  It was still pretty cold though.

Then we went to the Beach House for hot chocolate and cake, which was most welcome. Pedalling along the prom we saw the coastguard and an ambulance....then out to sea was a lifeboat. They were rescuing people in a dingy who had capsized. You can just about see it in the photo.

After a 'domestic' afternoon, we headed to the cinema to see Girl on a Train....we really enjoyed it even though the reviews didn't seem too great.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.