Dad

My Dad died this morning.

 

It’s hard to explain exactly how I feel at the moment, a mixture of grief and relief.  I think Helen and my Mum feel the same way.

 

I have so many happy memories, especially from when I was a small boy. He taught me many things, not just practical stuff like how to mend bikes, cars, electrical things, plumbing things, guitar things, how to knock stuff down and build it back up, but that anything was possible.

He was also incredibly fair, always tried to do the right thing. I remember many years ago when he’d just had his first heart attacks he was too unwell to go out for his departments Christmas dinner (he was the head of claims at an insurance company) so I went. I was astounded at how much love and respect his team had for him,  he was their boss and they loved him. It’s funny the things that stick with us.

 

So I’m thinking about things like that and making sure I don’t listen to Elvis, the Everly Brothers, Shadows, Neil Diamond, Glen Campbell or the Beatles. All of which will all remind me of driving with him to somewhere or other. He’d be extoling the virtues of his Peugeot 504 estate and explaining how a twin choke carburettor worked, I’d be longing for the day when I could drive myself and not have to put up with his singing ;)

 

There are many stories, some of which I’m not sure if they are completely true, like how he danced on the telly once (an actual programme not him doing a jig on top of it) or how he was in the Black and White Minstrels. I remember once not long before I bought my first car (which he helped me rebuild) he had his sensible insurance man head on and was lecturing me about safe driving. One of his friends was present and reminded him that in his youth he was a motorcycle outrider for the auxiliary fire service and would often ride at 80+mph with no hands. I seem to recall being very proud of him at that moment.

 

Of course the person we have to look after now is my Mum who has worked so hard to make him comfortable. They’ve been together since the dawn of time and I cannot imagine how lost she must feel.

 

So there we have it.

 

Ken Donnan

2nd August 1942 – 17th October 2016

 

A life very well lived.

 

Son, Brother, Husband, Dad, Father in law and Grandad. Many roles, all of which he excelled at.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.