Ocean of Light

I'm glad I got out today instead of staying in and telling myself I still felt rough. I went to see this light installation at Cossington Road Recreation Ground, set up for Leicester's Diwali celebrations which began with switch on of the lights on 'The Golden Mile,' aka Belgrave Road yesterday.

It's called Ocean of Light, consisting of 6000 translucent cable-suspended globes which constantly change colour. The installation also tracks people around while they're walking inside it. It's wonderful to play in, and very apt for the Festival of Lights. It's been sponsored by Phoenix Arts, the cultured arts organisation in Leicester. And, it was sunset!

Which was why I was surprised to find it stuck in the middle of the park with no one in it, not even the lads who were kicking a football nearby. Apparently it had 1000 visitors yesterday.

It's being disassembled tomorrow, so today was my last chance to see it.

I'd come on the Park and Ride bus from Birstall, so couldn't linger past six o clock because I needed to return to the bus stop to be sure to catch one of the last buses.

The lights had been switched on as I walked back and it is rather a sight. No pedestrianised area, the Belgrave Road. It's the route out to Melton Mowbray and traffic is constantly heavy.

The magical mystery Vue Wheel was also in place near the Belgrave Circle. Although Diwali is a major Hindu festival, nothing gets in the way of commerce. All the shops and restaurants were open, many festooned with bright yellow banners wishing Happy Diwali.

My friend Hemant advises me that Diwali Day will actually be 30th October with New Year's Day on the 31st. There'll be more fun, festivities and fireworks that day. Meanwhile, there are more lights to see in other parts of Leicester, and there will be a big 'mela' in the city centre this weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.