Heroes Parade

Manchester, you did the Olympians proud! It might have rained at times, but we didn't let it dampen our spirits as thousands lined the streets waving flags and cheering our athletes. 

I went into town early to make sure I nabbed a front row seat on Deansgate. I chose a spot that I could watch the parade, then when it had passed by I could race up to Albert Square to join in the celebrations. As I was waiting who should spot me but Mindseye and her other half. It was great to have a fellow blipper there. 

It was brilliant, but it got even better when we went up to the Square. Sir Chris Hoy and Beth Tweddle were in the commentary box near us and close by was Lord Coe. Helen Skelton (I've seen her twice now in the last couple of days) and Mark Chapman were introducing the athletes. The Kaiser Chiefs opened the proceedings and Rebecca Ferguson brought it to a close amidst a ticker tape and explosion of ribbons. Mindseye and I kept edging our way forward and we weren't that far off the front. At the end Dame Sarah Storey threw some signed cards out and I was nearly crushed in the rush to grab one...I did manage to catch one though :)

I have lots of pics and it was so hard to choose which one to blip, but I did love Kadeena Cox, Dame Sarah Storey and Jonny Brownlee waving to the office workers leaning out of windows behind us. There are a few more HERE if you fancy a look.

What a great celebration for our fantastic athletes. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.