mef13

By mef13

Toll Bridge

Take a trip from the Hampshire town of Totton across the river to adjoining Eling and you could be asked for £1 for the privilege.
It’s one of the few toll bridges where motorists are charged to use it. Years ago I recall using it at least twice a week and paying for the privilege of visiting one of my favourite pubs, sometimes for lunch, and often just to meet up for a chat and more often than not to put the world to rights.
At that time I often drove different cars, so the toll keeper often did not recognise me at first. At that time though, I do not think the toll was as much as £1.  Yet apparently there has been a toll levied for more than 400 years.
The local town council uses income from the toll bridge to help maintain the bridge and the historic nearby Eling Tide Mill.
Today I simply walked across the causeway for which there is no charge.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.