Sounds To Soothe And Satisfy

I heard a commotion in the hazel hedge, the harsh, unmistakable, screaming of a jay. I snatched a pic before it flew off. Back at the house I Googled to see what John Clare had to say about jays. Not much but this took me to William Cowper. A poem about a sofa, surely not for me but I persevered and found this, which I love:
 
"Nature inanimate employs sweet sounds,
But animated Nature sweeter still
To soothe and satisfy the human ear.
Ten thousand warblers cheer the day, and one
The livelong night: nor these alone whose notes
Nice-fingered art must emulate in vain,
But cawing rooks, and kites that swim sublime
In still repeated circles, screaming loud,
The jay, the pie, and even the boding owl
That hails the rising moon, have charms for me.
Sounds inharmonious in themselves and harsh,
Yet heard in scenes where peace for ever reigns,
And only there, please highly for their sake."

The jay definitely has charms for me, despite its inharmonious cry, when heard in scenes where peace forever reigns.

This evening I was asked to take pics at The Chamber Concert at my granddaughter's school. She played her clarinet and surprised us with a sweet little burst of solo singing. My favourite piece was played by Junior Musician of the Year Bethan Spragg on her trumpet (or maybe it was a cornet?). I've never heard Dvorak's Rusalka's Song To The Moon. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=leGLpudQYuU It was so beautiful and very touching, so different from raucous jazz trumpet playing.

This savage breast/beast has been soothed and satisfied.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.