JuliaKovach

By JuliaKovach

A PIECE OF DETROIT

While browsing through a yard sale, I happened upon this. Although I rarely purchase such objects, something about it caught me and pulled me nearer. Considering it for my small fenced-in patio Zen Den, I questioned the seller, asking if she thought it would weather the outdoor elements.

She smiled, calling it quite suitable, and relayed that it is a piece of slate tile that was removed from an abandoned building in Detroit.

Clearly, some natural laws of attraction were at work here.

Because those who know me, know that I love Detroit.

I love her back streets, colorfully painted buildings, her music, food, and the hope that still lives there.

People say that Detroit is coming back. I say she never left. She never fell. Never died. She merely stumbled . . . and then rested for a moment; like the rest of the country, she needed to catch her breath and regroup.

And she has. She's alive and well.

Pay no heed to those cautioned doomsday whisperers.

Detroit art is alive and well and right down the road from you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.