At the Checkout

I'm posting this shot of Amjad tonight for two reasons. First, I didn't have the chance to do any photography at all today so there wasn't a lot of choice. Second, it gives me an excuse to talk about something I've wanted to discuss for some while now, namely self-checkouts at supermarkets. 

I detest them with a passion. I can't ever remember using one without some problem which required getting the attention of one of the staff, and feeling totally inadequate in the process. That voice which says "unexpected item in the bagging area" will haunt me forever. I never want to hear it again ... so I absolutely refuse to use the things now. Occasionally, late in the evening, there is no choice offered, but I insist on a proper lane being opened up for me. I'm known well enough for that never to be a problem. It's a good thing that eccentricity is still found to be endearing!

Which brings me to Amjad. He is often seen on the human check-outs at Tesco. They are all lovely people, the check-out staff, but this guy is a real gem. He always has a smile on his face and wants to know how I'm doing. He makes shopping at the supermarket a pleasure. When I've been sitting by myself at a computer all day it's that kind of human engagement that I want. It's important. The last thing I need is having to deal with another machine and its refusal to be flexible. 

So I urge everyone to boycott the damn things like I do. In one local store, which I seldom frequent these days, there were only machines available and I was told quite curtly that I had to use one. "It's very simple," was what I was told, in a rather condescending tone. It's not about simplicity or complexity, it's the depersonalisation of the experience. I gave them my basket and walked out! Let's make a stand together.

Want to share some stories of your own? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.