A diving moorhen

I have been promising myself a trip to the Potteric Carr Nature Reserve all year. Having never been there despite it being in Doncaster I bought a year's membership hoping to go there and take interesting bird pics. Well after a number of false starts I made it today.

When I arrived the guy greeting me talked me through the site. It was about a 20 minute walk to the cafe and first hides but to do the main marshlands would take a two hour walk in addition. As 20 minutes would be challenging anyway I settled on the smaller marshland. Walking is challenging for me and it took about 30 minutes to reach the cafe. With my current unresolved stomach problems (hospital appointment came today for 3 weeks time!) I was relieved to see the rest room. The smell of a steak pie persuaded me to have a dinner which was excellent.

I then went into the hide. Of course there was not a bird in sight. I spotted this moorhen which was diving and managed to capture this. Hence the blip is the sequence I captured. I then decided I would try and go to the other marshland in the bigger area and just go to the first hide. Unfortunately the restroom called and I retreated to the cafe. Feeling that I did not want to get too far out I then retraced my steps back to the start and my car.

It was good to go at last and I bet there will be times when there will be many birds to capture. I need a settled stomach so I can walk slowly and then I can rest in the hides and enjoy the day without a need to get back quickly. But at last I have done it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.