Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

Ella Mia

Brazilians love to play with words. Their translations of English songs, based entirely on the sound of the original words, are hilarious.
Last year, my wife and I were walking through our neigborhood when we heard a very loud and heartbreaking meow coming out of an abandoned house. Since the gates and doors were open, my wife insisted I climb inside and try to locate the source of so much anguish. I found a very small cat, only a couple of weeks old. It's skin was covered in a very nasty looking fungus. The fur was almost completely gone. We took her to the vet where she was treated. It took a couple of months for Ella to recover her beauty, but today she is the most beautiful and sweetest cat I've ever known. She is fearless and serene at the same time. While Tom, our black cat, doesn't love dogs and pretty much ignores their existence, Ella plays hide and seek with them and is capable of using them as her pillow.
In Portuguese, Ella Mia sounds like "She meows".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.