TaTs - dawg & stuff

By tinksandtonks

JFK moment

Because I was only 6 I'm not sure I really remember the "JFK moment" rather than remembering what I've picked up since

But because I was 9 and at school when it happened I do remember Aberfan.  I grew up in Fife and my minds-eye picture of coal waste looked like this!! dirty but non-threatening.

So the thought of the spoil heaps in Wales big enough to kill so many was so alien a concept in my young life.  Coupled with the fact that my grandad had died that summer - but he was old (69!) so that was OK in my mind but 9 year olds don't die - that was a difficult thought to process.

Somewhere in my mind I remember taking 6d (2.5p) for a collection after the half-term break...I was questioning that because that means the school only raised about £10 but then the BBC announcer today talked about Coventry sending £4000 as a city collection so may be I'm not mistaken.

The live concert of this is here (all announcements are in Welsh) - it's moving (although I'm a little ambivalent about Karl Jenkins' works - a curate's egg for me)

Busy weekend after Daisy's death yesterday - Graham had just finished emptying out her flat 2 hours before it happened so he had gone home to clean himself up and he didn't make it in time - which adds to me thinking how awful it was for all those parents who never got to say goodbye to their children that morning 50 years ago today

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.