At the photo exhibition opening

Here in Lappeenranta at South-Karelian Museum was open photo exhibition of Sergei Prokudin-Gorsky who was Russian scientist and photographer from St. Petersburg. He captured the first color photos four years before Lumière brothers. Those first photos has been captured of Saimaa Canal (1,5 km's from where I currently live) on fall 1903 on his very first color photography trip from Vyborg to Lake Saimaa. Hence he has stopped at  Lappeenranta, Punkaharju  and Savonlinna. All those places are very special for me, due that Savonlinna is my home town and Punkaharju is near that city and currently I'm living at Lappeenranta. It was great experience to see those 113 year old color photos of places I have visited and photographed too. Sharpness of images was outstanding. Exhibition is open until April 2017, hence I recommend to visit there if coming to Lappeenranta.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.