Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

On The Fly

Tail wagging on the garage roof she certainly was 'on the fly' - if you look closely you can see what she is looking at directly underneath. 

I thought she was getting excited as were the robins and chickens at my adventures in cleaning out my mealworm farm which was spread out over the terrace.

 I am far less squeamish about mealworms now, not minding what I used to think of as repulsive squirming and totally ugh looking grubs. I keep them in cat-litter trays in the garage, one on top of another in the apple storage shelving, feeding them halves of potato and keeping them in a layer of wheat-bran. The chickens go bonkers for them so much so that if they are in the field 300yds away and we  call, 'Chickens!' in a tempting and cheery manner, shaking the bag of dried mealworms at the same time they come over, either trying to fly the distance or run in their waddling manner for the treats. This is brilliant as they will come immediately if I think they've gone too far too! Very funny to watch! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.