Myfanwy

This song has been very much on my mind today; after the minute's silence at 09:15 I listened again to this amazing radio programme. It includes the account of a man who happened to be passing Aberfan in a car with some mates - "We saw the mountain start to move" - "the first...body I dug out was a little girl"-"Come give me your hand, sweet Myfanwy". He could not recount it without weeping, even after fifty years. I remember the images from the telly vividly - it was only a black and white telly, but the images were mostly black since a lot of the digging was at night and in tons of black coal slurry. Just a few white, weary faces in the gloom.

At a nearby hospital in South Wales this morning they held a memorial service, and a senior nurse managed to do a beautiful performance of it.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.