Vintners

We spent the day in Stratford-on-Avon. It seemed that much of the time was spent looking for somewhere to park. There was a Mop Fair taking place which closed many of the streets in the centre of town. Mop Fairs in this part of England were hiring fairs, for hiring of servants. No sign of that in 2016, just very noisy fairground rides.
We did our share of Shakespeare sights including Ann Hathaway's Cottage just out of town in a damp narrow valley.
I love to explore Tudor Cottages, these were built in the mid 16th century.
I took lots of lovely photos, close ups of the timber features and views of the buildings. But, disaster, half way through the afternoon I found I no longer had my camera! I don't know whether I left it somewhere or, more likely I think, it was lifted from my bag. So I have resorted to my iPad, not very convenient.
For the evening we met our dear friends Paul and Pauline in a restaurant called Vintners ( another Tudor building) and then enjoyed a lively performance of a restoration comedy called "The Rover" in the lovely Swan Theatre, part of the Royal Shakespeare Theatre complex. Wonderful experience, many thanks to P&P for organising it all. The extra is a very poor iPad picture of the interior of the Swan Theatre before the performance.
Blipfoto may be intermittent in the coming days without my camera, but I will continue to enjoy your journals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.