Dormouse

By Adoremoose

Cramond island

Day 2 of holidays, and we decided to go on a walk to Cramond island. It's only accessible by causeway. Well, and a boat, I suppose, but I don't have one. Anyway. These concrete structures are a legacy of the war. Second, I think. They were defences to stop German ships coming further up the Forth estuary. You can see they underestimated how high they need to be, so they had to blob some more concrete on the tops. There are also the remnants of the cross defences too, I'm surprised there are any left. Kipper had an absolute ball. We observed a few groups of men digging on the sand, I think they were digging for raggies, or lugworm for bait. Too many to use themselves though, so I'm guessing they were selling them. Hard work for probably very little return.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.