Happy memories

A picture of an old photo of my Mother (on the left) and one of her sisters, Margaret. I keep this in my wallet. It is tiny, only an inch square, I don't know where or when it was taken but i love how happy and carefree they look.

WARNING; head emptying blah blah to follow

It is 25 years ago today that my Mother lost her battle with cancer. I am not marking this anniversary for morbid reasons. I just can't quite get my head round that it is half of my life. I blot out the memories of her last months and instead focus on the happy times when she was healthy and beautiful.

Normally my sister and i avoid my Dad like the plague on this date; he has a tendancy to be borderline melodramatic. But i did zip over there after work this afternoon. I don't think he had realised or remembered the date so i didn't mention it.
He was on good form and, dare i say it, so was StepM. Good form in that they were both reasonably mobile and we had a laugh, but leaving them in charge of making a meal was an alarming affair. Lord knows what concoctions they've been eating. e.g StepM was insistent on adding a tin of carrot and coriander soup to a chicken stir fry???? And my and Dad and i nearly came to blows over the fabric conditioner and laundry wash....
So there we are.

I'm on the whisky and watching Strictly :-)

Judge Rinder to win!!.......blame the whisky.

All love

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.