I am grateful for ...

By shirleyray

On It's Way to Mexico

I have been following dbifulco journal and have been fascinated with her work through the late summer in helping the monarch's life cycle. If you haven't visited, you will learn a lot and be very entertained along the way.

I went out with my macro lens today, thinking that I would find some bees in the purple sage. They are at their end and I only had one lonely fly buzzing around. 

As I ventured further, I saw that the "Canadian Air Force" has come for the winter. There was a lot of fussing around from them, chasing each other and squawking. As I walked by, they were not worried about me being up close and personal with them (see extra).

The black capped night heron was hanging out on the edge of the lake, but having my 100mm was not going to help capture a good picture of him. I'll have to come back with my long lens.

I wandered over to another lake. I noticed a lot of painted lady butterflies in the rust colored lantana. Once again, I could not get close enough to get a decent picture and they really blended into the flowers, so feeling a bit defeated, I decided to just sit on one of the large landscape rocks and see what might come my way.

I was thrilled when I saw two monarchs out of the corner of my eye. I did capture this one. It is the first one I have seen "in the wild". (Mainly because I really haven't been looking for them) I am sure this is one of Debbi's monarchs that she raised and released on it's way to Mexico. That's my story and I am sticking to it!

I am grateful for the cooler weather that is bringing all sorts of flying things my way!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.