To Let you know what you mean to me....

I was perfect housewife today, well perfect in the realm of my reality. 

I was up and dressed before nine (despite the fact that Himself was in work for 8).. I made soup, and then rice pudding, and then i set about putting things away... 

The living room now looks like a living room again.  The dining room table is now a table fit for eating at again...

Himself came home and we did shopping, and then I sat at the rocks and watched the sun go down. 

As I sat at the rocks watching the sunset, I am in awe of the number of people who appear with dogs, or children in tow, they step on to the grass, or the rocks, wander a bit, and are back in their car and away before I've even taken breath. 

Maybe I'm there for longer than I think...  I think that is a problem I have - I wandered through to the kitchen tonight, and when I came back, the programme we had been watching had finished.... and I am sure we were only about 15 minutes into it. 

But I've watched specifically two families - one with a child.  Dad was carrying a net, kid had bucket, mum had wedges and really tight white jeans on.  They walked / wobbled down to the rock pools, poked the net in once or twice, peered into the water, and then dad said "okay, time to head back. 

As I got out the car, three adults and two dogs pulled up in another car, and exited and headed for the grass.  I walked, sat on a bench, watched the sky, watched the sea, watched a funny wee bird, which I discovered was  a  curlew.... wandered across the grass, and the rocks, wandered back and forward.. and then headed back - and Dog family were already back in car and heading off. 

When I was little - a walk down the rocks could easily take 2 hours, when we took the kids down, 2 hours was a minimum..  Even now - when I "pop out for ten minutes for a photo", I'm out for 40 minutes. 

Dog walk.... dogs need longer than 10 minutes.  One of the dogs was digging it's heels in, loving the grass, and desperate not to clamber back in the car.   

I know life is busy, I know there are other things to do, but looking at the sky and the sea, and the people is free, and it's fun, and it shouldn't be rushed. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.