TimeLapse

By JillyMint

Do wasps get fat if they eat too many chairs?

Very LARGE for a closer look at this summer terror.

This wasp is eating my wooden garden furniture. Known as 'girdling' it is one of the common ways they gather the raw material used to make their nests. As you know they chew wood to make their beautiful paper nests. They will be on my furniture at some time of the day from now until summer ends - I suppose as nests grow and need repairing so too will they need more wood.
As an aside I have seen shops selling imitation wasp nests to hang near your jam sandwich (apparently they won't go near the nest of another wasp colony). If anyone has one I would be interested to know if they work or not.
It is very unlikely that I will blip tomorrow night. My sister and I have to make a start on my brother's estate (for lack of another suitable word.)
canon id mk iv; 180mm macro; iso800; f/8; 1/320"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.