AlrightFlower

By AlrightFlower

Posh frock!

Posting on a very lazy Sunday afternoon as I was much too tired and emotional to do it last night!

I do love a good posh frock do. Haven't been to one in a few years, but last night was a work sponsored masquerade ball in aid of Yorkshire Cancer Research and The Motor Neurone Disease Association.

After welcome drinks we sat down to a three course meal from our fabulous chefs (honestly, they're top drawer, absolutely beautiful food) starting with goats cheese something or other, then individual beef wellington followed by mini sticky toffee pudding, a white chocolate moussy type affair and poached pear, with coffee to finish. Just enough to make you not hungry, but not too full for the dancing!

Everyone had bought raffle tickets earlier on and there were some great prizes - craft gin, a laptop, a spa package, meals and hotel stays and even a weekend trip to Madrid. I'd earmarked a £50 voucher for a button shop but, alas, my number wasn't called :-( We also played heads or tails, with the last person standing winning £150, and there was a silent auction for bigger ticket items.

Once all that was finished our band for the evening, Keep The Faith, took to the stage. They play soul and northern soul - just the ticket for a couple of hours boogying on down!

Somehow managed to stagger back to my accommodation (if you're ever in Leeds, I'd recommend university residences - £40 a night and they're nice rooms), losing my mask and a contact lens on the way (neither of which I missed until about half an hour after waking this morning!). I'm assured that's the sign of a good night out lol.

And today I have really just been lying down. A lot.

Lx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.