Turns out wasps are good for something

....Creating macro opportunities!  We bumped into our downstairs neighbour yesterday and he told us that, while their old water tank was being taken out, the builder found a huge (thankfully long-abandoned) wasps' nest - about the size of four or 5 rugby balls.  Wow!  Anyway, today I helped myself to a small section of it, brought it indoors and sat it on top of my macro ring light for some photos.  Like most people, I can't stand wasps, but I have to say I have a new level of admiration for them having seen this - what a huge amount of effort goes into their nests!

Tim and I are still feeling poorly, so yet again we gave climbing a miss today (can't remember the last time we went!)  Had quite a relaxed morning, then an early lunch, and then went for a walk to Greenwich Park, for a bit of chestnut foraging.  Lots of other people had the same idea, so it was fairly slim pickings, but we found a few good ones :)

Had a pretty relaxed afternoon and evening, and watched another episode of the beautiful program about New Zealand that we recorded months ago.  I'm not letting Tim delete them - keeping them for a second watch at some point!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.