Queen Wilhelmina Pavilion

Went to Breda late in the afternoon to meet a friend and her family, whom I hadn't seen in four years.  They moved to Curaçao in 2000 and have visited here only sporadically, but with hardly any time to meet old friends.  The invitation was last-minute, 16.00, at the location of the bar they used to own.  She is Dutch, he is Irish, and I used to babysit their three kids -- daughter MA who's now 28, son MH who's now 26, and youngest son MC, who's now 23.  Arrived at the pub at 16.10 (you never want to be the first to arrive, right?) but they weren't in yet, so I took a walk around and shot this, close to the castle, among other things.  Took my time and was back at the pub at about 16.30 but still no sign of them.  By then, other guests had arrived as well, none of whom I knew, so we were a small group.  By 17.00, still no sign and by 17.10, after having been treated to a glass of apple juice, I decided that another time would be just as good.  I was glad for the excuse to get out of the house and shoot something elsewhere.

Back to the Creative Writing MOOC when I got back home.  I am now 3.5 weeks ahead of schedule, which is good as I will not have much time for any MOOC for the next two weeks, and the short story that will finish the course can be done offline whenever I want.  The Marquez MOOC isn't quite finished yet but no rush with that.  I am rereading One Hundred Years of Solitude, which is what the last two weeks' assignment is all about.  It's actually a good excuse to enjoy it all over again and you get to memorize more detail the second time around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.