Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Carousel

Up in London for a meeting today but the weather was so nice I walked up and down the south bank rather than head straight home. There's a little fun fair near the London Eye - new to me. So I've got a few new images for my London gallery.

I had quite a few to choose from today and it was a bit frustrating having to settle for one. I liked this one of a window slightly ajar. But I think it's the people shots I like most. I haven't the chutzpah yet to just step right in front of folk and snap but surely that's the only way to shoot people unposed. Once you ask, even if they agree, people just can't help posing and go all self conscious or try to act natural but can't. I suppose that's why candid is candid. I also noticed in the South Bank skateboard area some new graffiti had gone up with portraits of four of the British Olympic gold medalists.

Oh and here's a quiz: do you know what this is? Clue - it's a London landmark.

I don't change my picture when I've made my pick but after going through today's images and looking them over again, the one I like the best is this one - people taking it easy in the early evening with dappled sunlight playing over their conversations. It reminds me a bit of Renoir's Luncheon of the Boating Party- people just chewing the fat as they have always done. I'm drawn to that lady in he middle who's getting animated with her hands.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.