secret garden

By freespiral

No man is an island

No man is an iland, intire of it selfe; every man is a peece of the Continent, a part of the maine; if a clod bee washed away by the Sea, Europe is the lesse, as well as if a Promontorie were, as well as if a Mannor of thy friends or of thine owne were; any mans death diminishes me, because I am involved in Mankinde; And therefore never send to know for whom the bell tolls; It tolls for thee....
John Donne, Meditation 17



A bright and breezy day - Himself went off to walk on the ridge and came back perished, and I did some much needed domestic stuff!  I forced myself to read an article in yesterday's Sunday Times  about the genocide of the Yazidi people in Iraq at the hand of Isis, man's sheer vileness can sometimes take your breath away. I went out onto this teeny island for a blow to clear my head. The little bit in the front is only accessible at low tide and the main bit is full of gorse, a snipe rising up  as I wandered around.

John Donne's words never seemed so pertinent on so many different layers and in so many different places.If you haven't seen this extraordinary rendition of the poem by PJ Harvey do watch it - read at Glastonbury as the news of Brexit came through but it could be read at so many places around the globe at this moment.

PJ Harvey


Thanks to everyone who took part in DS53, hearts will be awarded tomorrow. Shall we go spooky for DS54, it being Samhain/Halloween?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.