Poor deer

We popped back to the park as the sun was out and it seemed too good an opportunity to miss as we both had the day off, however, the sun disappeared and it was soon too murky to take any decent photographs. This stag, who I've met before, looked pretty worn out and so I was able to get quite close to him without disturbing him. Unfortunately, when some families with noisy little children came our way he stood up and it then became apparent that he had a broken back leg (it was dangling below the knee), presumably sustained in battle. He was still able to get up and walk around on his three good legs, and eat, and I guess the rest of the herd will just ignore him now. He looked so sad :(

When we passed the noticeboard on the way back to the car park there was a number to call with 'any issues' so I thought I'd try and get a message to the park warden. I'm wavering a bit, though, as I'm worried that the warden will just euthanase the stag and I can't decide whether that's really for the best or not? :/ I might switch my comment facility back on in case anyone reading this has any advice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.