Dare Mighty Things

By dcomp

A Simple Stone

I am, for the first time in many years, truly heart-broken and yet tonight I find myself at peace. This weekend I learned that the one of the greatest and most delicate balances in the race to fulfilling ones dream is recognising the difference between the need to act in your own interest and the importance of acting in the interests of others. Identifying the need to allow nature to take the path it was on before you walked it.
 
This weekend I was built and broken and built again in a matter of hours. The impression that has been left in my life, in my soul and in my heart as a result is immeasurable; the hole that remains is cavernous. I am left with ‘la douleur exquise’, a beautifully accurate phrase I heard, remarkably and coincidentally, for the first time today.
 
In the midst of this heart-break was an exchange which will live with me forever: A simple stone that holds a snapshot of memories and the feelings of a lifetime. 

A simple stone that perhaps says more about love than any word in any language.
 
A simple stone that represents my journey, my pursuit of happiness and my chance for extraordinary.
 
A simple stone that says ‘I’m always here’. 
   
I was awoken and I fell wholly and truly, unequivocally and unconditionally. It’s what I want to show my children, what I want them to know, what I want them to aspire to. Right now, it’s either not my time to have that, not their time to see it, or a combination of the two. Whichever it is, I know it’s there for me and for them and our time will come.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.