Nice enough to share

Thank you for all the loveliness that has put the Rigg up near the top of popular - I promise we'll restore it to its full glory this Thursday.

We awoke to thick fog this morning, but as I drove over Grayrigg Fell we emerged from the mist into a truly glorious autumn day.
I had a vague memory of another tucked away tarn, so after dropping Mrs IttH at work (obviously I tried not to snigger...) pooch and I set off to have a look. Ratherheath Tarn it turns out is also "private" - this time for the benefit of a fishing club. Paphooey. With not a soul about I had a lovely, respectful walk. As I pretty much epitomise the "leave nothing but footsteps and take only pictures" ethos I can make my peace with that. Equally I may just be a serial trespasser! But with colours like this making the most magical display I think I can be forgiven, it's simply too nice a view to be kept hidden.

Pooch was still tucked up in Prince - so we drove down to Staveley and had a very very picturesque walk along the Dales Way next to the Kent - and then home in time to chat with the builders who've just started the very minor alterations needed to accommodate our flood defences, so that's another item ticked off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.