NewDelftBlue

By hjarald

Our Biggest Castle

De Haar Castle (Dutch: Kasteel de Haar) is located near the small dwelling called Haarzuilens, in the province of Utrecht in the Netherlands. The current buildings, all built upon the original castle, date from 1892 and are the work of Dutch architect P.J.H. Cuypers, in a Neo-Gothic restoration project funded by the Rothschild family.
The oldest historical record of a building at the location of the current castle dates to 1391.

Did I mention it's by far the largest castle we have in Holland? ;-))))))

More info on it's origin can be found on https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/De_Haar_Castle

Photo: Newdelftblue by Hjarald Agnes.

(PS. Want any of my prints on your wall? Color version and B&W available too! Just contact me at: hjarald@me.com)

Thanks for visiting my journal!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.