Kegs Kwikpics.

By Kegrow

Newhaven from San Remo

I was lucky to get this photograph. The skies opened as I got back to the car and it bucketed down. I had very few exposures in the camera but I am pretty happy with this one.
I am trying to take a philosophical and positive stance to this rain...but it is sooooo bugging me. Ahh dear.
I am indulging my penchant for somewhat minimalist seascapes/landscapes. It is so uncomplicated, anxiety free, serene, and stable. And no doubt there are lots of other adjectives that could be applied.
There is a movement in the Western Tradition of Art called The Classical Tradition (fm a book by Michael Greenhalgh) where he examines art from the Renaissance to the 19th Century. Among some of the characteristics that define classicism in this respect is a reliance on horizontal and vertical elements, real or implied, within a composition. As for example, in the case of paintings by Nicolas Poussin.
And this is something that greatly appeals to me. Straight horizons, vertical edges of buildings, masts of ships etc. Although I don't mind a leaning vertical also when the composition calls for it.
Sorry about all that. I don't mean to sound pedantic. After all we are doing this for fun...aren't we?
:-))

Bigger version here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.