Last of the sun in Mote Park

Had a teleconference in the morning which I chair and am always pleased to get over. It went OK, but I never look forward to these things. As a reward I went for a swim afterwards then fussed around at home finishing things off from this morning's call.

Had to chase up Doreen's insurers again as we'd heard nothing from them since I called a week last Monday. Got the usual runaround, the first people I called said I needed to phone another company, so I phoned them only for them to ask why I'd been told to call.

Susan had been to Great Dixter in East Sussex to admire the gardens developed by Christopher LLoyd. She had a wonderful time and I was tempted to sneek one of her shots for today's blip. But I resisted the temptation as I found one on our walk around Mote Park.

We found a poem, which you can read with difficulty, attached to a signpost in the park, highlighting the impact of development on open spaces. When we got home there was a piece in the local paper about a new recreation facility proposed for the park; adventure golf, shop, high wires, more parking and so on. We suspect that was what the poem was referring to.  We do seem to want to continue to develop our open spaces for entertainment at the expense of quiet and tranquility.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.