From a High Tree

By FrayBob

First Day

First day

The teacher takes your hand and you smile and mouth 'bye bye'
(You're being really brave, while I'm trying not to cry)

You're so excited, it makes me smile, but all the same it's strange,
(It's one more step along the way, your world's about to change.)

You sit beside your friends, and suddenly seem so wee,
(I panic - did we play enough? Did you watch too much TV?)

Your little face turns up to hers, eyes fixed in concentration,
(Did I give you enough fruit/fresh air/neurological stimulation?)

I'll miss our pirate games, your scrambled egg, fun in the pool,
(The quiet, still mornings in the park, when big kids are at school)

I'll miss the noise, your funny songs, the million questions too,
From nine til three, now there's just me, and I'll miss every bit of you.

~~~

The lovely words (which made me cry) were written by my wife.
The big shoes are going to Primary 5 and the wee ones are just starting (gulp).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.