Man's Best Friend

I shut the gate after the horse bolted, in a manner of speaking, when after taking my bike to the bike doctor's and having new chain fitted, I spent an oily half hour practising how to do the repair myself with the chain splitting tool which I discovered was part of the comprehensive tool gadget I had left behind in Edinburgh while on our trip to Niort, because it weighs almost as much as the bike. More fool me.

Apart from that lesson which has left my hands looking once more like a mechanic's, I have had limited success with my day.

I forgot about eggs I was hardboiling and went out into town with his Lordship to buy train tickets for a sortie to Glasgow tomorrow.

Fortunately I only remembered about the eggs 200 yards from home on my return, so didn't have to worry about the effects for too long, which were two cindered eggs and a pan which has miraculously survived. I got off lightly.

I am also encouraging with words and water a shrub on the patio which seems in terminal decline through dehydration.The heavy rain forecast for later may be a life saver.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.