One click at a time

By KeithKnight

Dicky Ticker

I saw my consultant again today, having been recalled rather earlier than expected - previously I wasn't expecting to see him for another year.

While reviewing my previous tests before replying to the DVLA he identified a more serious issue than previously diagnosed - a 2:1 block which meant that on a couple of occasions during a 48 hour ECG recording I missed 2 consecutive heart beats. He intends to fit a pacemaker to prevent any further occurrence, something that is done under a local anaesthetic so I shouldn't be out of action for too long. The current waiting times are 4-5 weeks at the most.

Monday's appointment for a further 24 hour ECG recording has been cancelled as he has decided on his course of action.

I'm allowed to drive again 4 weeks after the pacemaker is fitted, so early in the new year I should be back on the road again (again).

All of which means I have an excuse to call myself Monsieur Alfonse from 'Allo 'Allo

Last night when I arrived home I found that I had been sent a largo bouquet of flowers for my birthday from a friend. Todays blip is one of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.