King's Cross

The 10:00 am train to Aberdeen seems to be a very popular service, not because so many people are going to Aberdeen from London, most London passengers get off at York, Newcastle or Edinburgh. I decided to return to Aberdeen on Thursday to avoid weekenders on a city break. I may have been successful to some extent.

I also opted for a quiet carriage. This worked quite well until a mother with a two and a half year old daughter got on. Why did she choose the quiet carriage! There was no way the child was going to be quiet, which she must have known.

The train arrived in Aberdeen about half an hour late. Apparently this was due to trespassers on the line at Stevenage (not sure where that is). When I used to commute from Sussex into London it used to be cows on the line. Then because we were late, after Edinburgh we were stuck behind a slower train. I think we go past it somewhere, but never made up the time.

I thought this photo of the roof in the extension on the side of King's Cross station was crying out for some "special effect", maybe next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.