Moving Into The Unknown

By dvdlodi

Magic

I often swing by the river just to check on water levels and daydream a little.  Water is a familiar, calming thing for me.  Today I met this gentleman from Mexico and we carried on a pretty decent conversation in Spanish. (note: my idea of "decent" probably amounts to a very rudimentary Spanish level to many others!) We talked about the beautiful sunny day and the high level of the water in the river.  We also talked about transistor radios (he had 2 of them and was very proud to show them off to me).  He was drinking a 2 quart carton of milk and told me it was for health reasons, although my Spanish comprehension failed me and I didn't quite follow it all.  I asked for a portrait and he gracefully declined.  We continued to talk and mess around with the tuning of his radios as he was eager to show me how many Mexican stations from the Portland area he could tune in.  When I said goodbye and walked away, I had a very real and strange feeling that something magical had just occurred.  Not sure why or what it was, but his gentle nature moved me...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.