Marking Time

By Libra

The cave that inspired Treasure Island

I set out this afternoon in search of otters for they have been sighted along the Allan Water, and once some time ago, I spotted one climbing out of the river.

Today I had no such luck.
Instead I re-visit RL Stevenson cave on the Darn Walk, believed to be the inspiration for Ben Gunn's cave in Treasure Island.

Stevenson, as a child was regular visitor to Bridge of Allan with his family for the area then enjoyed the reputation of being a spa town on account of the special mineral waters coming out of the disused copper mines and were thought to have healing properties.

Anyway, Stevenson was greatly taken with this small town and writes lovingly of it:
"I shall never forget the days at Bridge of Allan; they were one golden dream"


As for the cave I can never resist going into it on my walks and quite frankly I have always thought it a dank, dark gloomy place with dripping water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.