Third_eye

By Third_eye

Oulton Broad, Lowestoft

Just coming back to life after a tiring but enjoyable trip to Oulton Broad, yesterday.

 I had been there once before, and passing it on the train last week decided to visit again, but had forgotten that the station is about a mile from the river, by a tortuous route which had not seemed a problem when I was fit and enjoyed walking!

The weather was fine for the time of year, and after spending about half an hour by the water we made our way to the imposing Wherry Hotel which has excellent reviews in Trip Advisor although my only previous visit several years ago was marred by disgruntled staff trying to serve in a dining room in the throes of re-decoration.

This time it was different: the place was sparkling clean, but the staff seemed disinclined to serve, so we left and decided to eat at The Red Herring,  also highly praised in Trip Advisor (although I was slightly suspicious, both of the review and the name).

But the service and food were beyond excellent, and although I felt that the price included rent for the 35 minutes we had to wait for our meal to reach the table after ordering, I would happily eat there again ... but would pre-book

OK now … after that verbal ramble, here's my defining photo of a lazy day by the water in late season.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.