The proof of the pudding

Is will be in the eating…… 

Is it the GBBO, Saturday Kitchen or just the time of year which has put me in a cooking mode?  I have quite a few people I need to repay hospitality to and on these forthcoming darker evenings, what better way than to throw some ’ Dinner Partays’ – well not that formal, just friends round for something to eat and perhaps a …….  drink, or two, and to that end I’ve been doing a bit of experimenting,  this time I'm chancing my arm at puddings:   home-made ice cream (made yesterday), Meringues (made yesterday) and today I’ve had a go at Almond Praline.  On the first attempt on the Praline  front I burnt the sugar and the second attempt wasn’t much better, even though I watched the sugar like a hawk, and didn’t cook it for too long.  However, Mr T who was lurking around in the kitchen and sampled pieces from both batches was complimentary on both counts – he’s hatching a cold, so perhaps his taste buds are a bit dull?  Crumbled over the ice cream I should be able to get away with it?! 

Who remembers our dinner parties in the ‘70’s: 

Starters:  The Prawn Cocktail, or French Onion Soup with a piece of toasted cheese floating on the top or homemade Chicken Liver Pate.
Mains:  Chicken a la King, Duck a l’orange or a meat or cheese Fondue.
Puds:  Black Forest Gateaux or a baked Alaska perhaps?
Cocktails: Snowballs, Singapore Slings, a Harvey Wallbanger or a Brandy Alexander?? And the
 Wine:  Forget anything non-European, a French Chablis or German White was far more acceptable!
The entertainment:  70s lounge music, get your slide projector out or …….. Key party anyone??

 Aaaaah, those were the days???

 But for tonight I only have one guest, yes you guessed, Mr T and I’ll be showing off my prowess experimenting with mini Beef Wellingtons, sauté potatoes and seasonal veg followed by …. yes, you guessed it.  Meringues filled with almond cream, topped with Almond Praline and served with a small quenelle* (*posh word  often used in a certain BBC TV cookery programme  .... MC) of the homemade ice cream. 

Proof of the pudding will most definitely be in the eating and the same for the Beef Wellingtons too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.