700 women

I went to an event today at Gods House Tower in Southampton. The tower is inside the old walls of Southampton and is being restored as a galley and art space. Given there is no history of any women having passed through the gateway of the tower, an artist involved with the work there organised a Day to 'find a way to right the wrongs of 700 years of ignored female history'. The aim of he event today was to get 700 women to pass through the tower and to have their presence recorded through a photo, sketch or by recording their story which will form part of a later exhibition. It was a really great event. I went with my friends Claire and Ruth and we had our photos taken and I subjected myself to being sketched. The extra is of the inside of the tower, I really liked this piece of artwork. There is more information about the event here https://www.theguardian.com/artanddesign/2016/oct/28/artist-sarah-filmer-god-house-tower-700-years-ignored-history-southampton

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.