Haikography

By JanBee

Saturday

Turn the sign to "closed".
Saturday ends wearily,
Aching feet walk home.


Went into Brighton for a wander this afternoon  and to catch SarahK's exhibition as part of the Brighton Photo Fringe ( - It was excellent of course!).

After a bit of browsing round the North Laines we were headed back to the car.  My friend popped into a pub to use their loo and I sat on a bench outside.  A rather drunk chap came and sat next to me and we started talking.  He was an artist who was finding things a bit overwhelming, he said painted in oils and had been a child prodigy, so we talked about that a bit.  He had lived in Brighton for quite a long time but said he now lived in a 'vacuous space'.  Brighton is anything but that, but I think he was referring to his own state of mind. We chatted a bit more and then he said he always thought of Brighton as an 'open-air asylum', which made me chuckle and so he chuckled too  and there was  a sort of connection of understanding between us.  The my friend came back so we said our good-byes and I left.

I wanted to take his picture, but wasn't brave enough to ask ... what an idiot I am.  I am glad we made a brief connection, Brighton is so full of people serious about having 'fun' it's hard for those on the edge.  This guy had previously been talking to a chap dressed as a traffic cone, so I can see where he was coming from ...

picture of pub window in extras
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.