A New Day

By ANewDay

Valentine's Mansion, Ilford

I had a very adventurous day today (for me anyway!) I took two trains from Manningtree in Essex to Ilford in Greater London. I haven't been on a train for years, so to go on my own to London was quite nerve wracking.

I went there to meet up with a friend I've been emailing for nearly 5 years, but had never met in person! We met on an online chat website and got on really well. My daughter was convinced I was going to meet up with an axe murderer who had been "grooming" me for years! Do you think she has an over-active imagination or what?

It turned out that the friend was exactly the person I thought she'd be after sharing our life stories for so long and we hardly stopped for breath with all the chat! It was so lovely to see her and I hope it won't be another 5 years before we meet up again.

Nearly forgot - we visited Valentine's Park, which is near where she lives and this is the recently restored mansion house in the park. The heavens opened minutes later - so this was the best shot I could manage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.