Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

GEILSTON

With the Prof to Cardross with a wee stop at Bowling Basin to check if our lovely niece A was there on her catamaran, but that ship had sailed. Impressed with the improvements to the canal at Bowling. On to Geilston, a garden I haven't visited since the NTS took it over some years ago. Lovely contrasts between the wide lawns, densely packed fiery borders and the shady gorge walk. It is dominated by a Sequoiadendron giganteum, but for me the outstanding feature is the kitchen garden. I must confess I like best of all to see how others are growing their fruit and veg and to pick up tips. They sell veg too, so I bought a couple of artichokes which I have never cooked or eaten except from a jar. Will experiment tomorrow evening.
Later in the day, before the rain returned, I started to clear one of my mixed borders. The VSP calls it 'the jungle' and with good reason. Hard to get the balance between benign neglect and respect for wildlife on one hand and complete abdication of responsibility on the other. Think I have strayed into malignant neglect with this border - it is going to need some serious slashing and burning.
A tutorial in the evening and off to bed with a good book now

GOOD THINGS
My lovely niece B has got a job - not permanent, but it's a job
Teaching and how it energises me
Sweet peas - picking a fresh bowl for my desk every other day at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.