Effigy

This weeks challenge being ' tombstones' I went on a wander today through the churchyard at Aberlady. Although there are lots of gravestones the more recent ones didn't really catch my eye and the older ones are so worn down as to be illegible. In the end I went inside and tried my hand at manually getting a photo of the effigy for Louisa Bingham, Countess of Wemyss , born 1798 - died 1882. The effigy has been moved from its original resting place so I'm guessing she is buried beneath the floor but I can't find any information about that or anything else much about her but she was 84 when she died which was a ripe old age for the time. I've always loved this piece of sculpture and can never resist the temptation to run my fingers over the marble - it looks so real. I was quite pleased I managed  as the light was very low and I didn't have a tripod.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.