Life through the lens...

By ValC

Doe a deer

My  blip for today was going to be Albert, head of the red deer herd at Wentworth Castle. A lovely shot of his huge antlers, which I thought looked stunning with the autumn colours as a background.  Now an extra.
However it is not often you can stoke a wild red deer, and so MrC kindly took this photo of Lucy and I, which was so special to me it had to be my first choice.

Sometimes things are just meant to be.
We didn't go with our walking group today as Mr C's leg was playing up a bit.( result of the fall I think)
So we decided to visit Wentworth Castle near Barnsley and have a walk round the parkland. 
Next we decided to do the walk the opposite way round for a change.
We could hear the roar of a stag in the distance. What a wonderful sound.  I have only heard  them on television, and once before for real. 
We then reached the Rotunda and after a look round, and more photos, we went down to the woods to see if we could spot the stag.
There he was in the middle, but I couldn't get a very good photo.
Decided to continue the walk, and as we came to another gate, the park warden drew up in his 4x4. We started chatting, and he said if we waited a few minutes we would be able to see the deer close to.
He began whistling, and suddenly they all started running towards us.
What a sight! Out came his bag of treats. ( not sure what)and they got stuck in. 
This gorgeous doe came so close, and he said it was OK to stoke her. She had been hand reared when her mother died, and so was quite tame.
I can't tell you how thrilled I was. Felt quite emotional. ( Old softy me)
Anyhow we then left them and continued or walk.
It was like being on your own Autumn Watch programme!

It has been a very warm day, and the sun almost came out.
The trees looked amazing in all their autumn glory.
This is one day we will always remember.
So unexpected.

Albert by the way came from Chatsworth, and now has 96 does in his harem!

Interesting reading about Wenworth   here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.